Time Zone

Central Africa Time
(GMT/UTC + 2 hours)

Official Languages



Rwandan Franc(Rwf)


13 Million


Rwanda is a country situated in Central Africa, bordered to the North by Uganda, to the East by Tanzania, to the South by Burundi and to the West by the Democratic Republic of Congo. Rwanda’s total area is Km2 26,338, with a population density estimated to be 445 people per km².

Rwanda’s landscapes have earned it the name of the Land of a Thousand Hills.

Modest in size with 26,338 square kilometres, the country is densely populated with 12.3 million inhabitants. Seventy percent of Rwanda’s population is under 30 years old. Although Rwanda is located near the equator, the country enjoys a climate with moderate temperatures ranging between 24 ℃ and 27 ℃ , and its altitude varies between 1,000 and 4,507 meters above sea level.

Rwanda is located on the borders of East and Central Africa. It is part of both the East African Community and the Economic Community of Central African States. It is a landlocked country surrounded by Uganda, Tanzania, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), and Burundi. It shares Lake Kivu with DRC.

Almost all Rwandans speak the national language, Kinyarwanda, and the country has three other official languages, English, French and Swahili.

Over the past two decades, the country has experienced political and social stability supported by strong economic growth. Rwanda is recognized for the quality of its governance and the important role played by women in the life of the nation.

4.9/5 - (13 votes)

Sign In


Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.

Verified by MonsterInsights